

## THE AMERICAN THEATRE WING STAGE DOOR CANTEEN

(The Stage, Radio, Screen, Vaudeville, Music and The Entire Entertainment World) 224 WEST 44th STREET, NEW YORK 18, N. Y.

## COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

Chairmen: JANE COWL SELENA ROYLE Business Managers: KERMIT BLOOMGARDEN EDDIE SOBOL Executive Secretary: LEILA LEE

Publicity: LEO FREEDMAN MARJORIE BARKENTIN

Food Preparation: MARION MOORE JENNY LORBER Entertainment:

JAMES E. SAUTER Program: HORACE BRAHAM BETTY LAWFORD

Donations: \*HELENE DUMAS NANCY DOUGLASS NANCY SHERIDAN

Scenic Designers: EMELINE ROCHE PEGGY CLARK

Motor-Corps: SUE EASTMAN CARL EASTMAN

Equipment:

JAMES VAN DYK

Senior Hostesses:
JANE BRODER
OSCEOLA ARCHER
LAURA PIERPONT
MADELEINE CLIVE
CHRISTIE MCCDONALD
GLADYS RRAHAM GLADYS BRAHAM

Hostesses: VIRGINIA KAYE VIVIAN SMOLEN

Hosts: TOM RUTHERFURD JOSEPH BELL \*ALAN HEWITT STAATS COTSWORTH

Advisory Benefits: ELIZABETH MORGAN

Stage Managers: \*RICHARD BECKHARD ADELE BUSCHMAN

Checkroom: HAROLD FRIEDLANDER FLORENCE LITT

Labor: SOLLY PERNICK WILLIAM FEINBERG

Treasurers: MORRIE SEAMON ETHEL ARCHER

Registrars: DORA UFLAND RUTH LEWIS

Radio: LLOYD ROSAMOND

Nurses: IRENE CARLSON, R.N.

Special Services: †CONNIE HERMER FLORENCE RAPPORT

Angel Table: FRANCES PAPERTE \*Armed Forces and Red Cross Overseas

†OWI-Overseas

October 19, 1945

Dear Fellow Worker:

As you are aware the American Theatre Wing Stage Door Canteen will close on Sunday, October 28th.

No mere words emanating from the Co-Chairmen of the Host Committee could suffice to thank you for the loyal and generous contribution you have made to the Stage Door Canteen,

The Co-Chairmen feel that while your greatest reward has unquestionably been found in the gratitude of the servicemen themselves, nevertheless we want you to know that without your service the Host Committee could not have functioned and, in turn, the work of the Canteen itself would have suffered.

We, therefore, wish to express the gratitude of the Executive Committee and all of your fellow workers in the Canteen.

Yours very sincerely,

Joseph Bell, Staats Cotsworth, Tom Rutherfurd Co-Chairmen, Host Committee

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE AMERICAN THEATRE WING WAR SERVICE, INC. ACTIVE AND HONORARY

RACHEL CROTHERS, President—Antoinette Perry, Chairman of Board and Secretary—Gertrude Lawrence, 1st Vice-President—Helen Hayes, 2nd Vice-President—Vera Allen, 3rd Vice-President—Lee Shubert, 4th Vice-President—Paul Dullzell, 5th Vice-President—Mrs. Martin Beck, Treasurer—Brooks Atkinson, Kermit Bloomgarden, Ray Bolger, Harry N. Brandt, Ilka Chase, Jane Cowl, Morton Downey, William Feinberg, Vinton Freedley, John Golden, Oscar Hammerstein II, Marcus Heiman, George Heller, Emily Holt, Josephine Hull, Vincent Jacobi, Abe Lastfogel, Alfred Lunt, Bert Lytell, Burns Mantle, Earl C. McGill, Fred Marshall, Helen Menken, Gilbert Miller, Warren P. Munsell, Brock Pemberton, Solly Pernick, James C. Petrillo, James F. Reilly, Jacob Rosenberg, J. Robert Rubin, James E. Sauter, Oliver M. Sayler, Morrie R. Seamon, Mat Shelvey, Lawrence Tibbett, Niles Trammell, Richard F. Walsh, Dwight Deere Wiman—Sidney R. Fleisher, Counsel.